Hiatus

Hi everyone!

I’ve gotten lots of comments and emails wondering where I’ve been.  I think the easiest way to explain it would be bullet-style.

  • Back in September, my mom had major surgery, and I took some time to go stay with her after her surgery to help her get around while she recovered.
  • The day after SC and I got back from my mom’s house, my hubby left for a week to go on a church-planting trip to Wyoming.
  • In October we got a call from our worker that said all our paperwork was finished and we were officially going into the system as eligible foster care parents on October 1st.
  • We spent the entire month of October preparing ourselves and our home for our first placement.
  • We had a few calls (that we either turned down or the children were sent to other homes due to extenuating circumstances) during October.
  • On November 4th, we were blessed with our first placement – a beautiful 6 month old baby girl!
  • As is customary with foster care, there’s been lots of meetings, appointments, etc. that we’ve had to attend – honestly, WAY more than I was expecting.
  • Having a baby is a time-eater (right???).  Having a baby with health issues is an even bigger time-eater.  Having a foster baby with health issues that has beaucoup appointments to go to each week is a huge time-eater.  I’m still adjusting.  Obviously.
  • In mid-November, I went to get some issues checked with my eyes and got admitted to the hospital to have a whole bunch of tests run on my brain (I’m fine!  I just have lots of follow up visits over the next few months!)
  • On the same day I was admitted to the hospital, Baby Girl came down with RSV.  Thankfully my mom and dad were able to come down and stay with the girls so my hubby could stay with me at the hospital.
  • Because of these two things, our trip to NYC that we were supposed to take with my mom and dad over Thanksgiving week got cancelled.  Yes, it was disappointing, but definitely for the best.
  • The doctors put me on some medication that makes me exhausted.  I’m talking first-trimester-can’t-lift-my-head-off-the-pillow exhausted.  It’s a ton of fun feeling like that and having two kids.  My husband has been an absolute angel and has done so much to help us get through our days, especially on the days I feel like collapsing.  Each day gets a little better as I adjust more and more to it.  But I won’t lie – it’s been really hard.
  • We’re home now and both trying to make sure we make all of our follow up appointments.  My calendar is my BFF right now.
  • With the exception of our last two days of CC, I pretty much didn’t do school the entire month of November.  And I don’t feel the least bit guilty about it.

So that’s where we are.  I am slowly, slowly getting back into the swing of things.  I’ve pulled out everything we didn’t get to in weeks 1-12 and we’re chipping away at that over the month of December.  We missed our campus’s mid-year Memory Master practice day because I was in the hospital so I’m hoping to practice and review with my big girl over our break.

And foster care?  I wish I had words to describe it.  Each day is a new emotion.  Some days I can’t allow myself to think about the possibility of her going back because I don’t think my heart could handle it.  I pray she gets to stay with our family and then I feel selfish for praying that prayer because I know out there is a mother who would lose her child if that prayer is answered.  It’s an emotional tightrope.  If I tried to write out everything in my head & heart, you’d be here all day.  So just know that she’s amazing and we love her and would love the opportunity to adopt her.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving and will have a wonderful Christmas!  I am not even putting up a tree this year.  I know.  That’s how tired this medication makes me.  My 7YO has been so gracious about it.  But we’ve incorporated some new Christmas traditions to take the place of putting up and decorating a tree, and I think she’s happy with those.

I am going to try to make some more printables while we’re visiting family.  I need to do some English printables for weeks 14-24 and finish up the science printables.  Fingers crossed it will happen!  🙂

5 thoughts on “Hiatus

  1. I’ve been fostering for 7 years, about 25 kids, and we’ve adopted 4. I understand how exhausting it can be with good health. I have asked God to give you supernatural strength and energy, even if just for the day. Bless you.

  2. Wow!!! I’ve been wondering where you were and praying for you! I’ve dropped by several times and just yesterday checked CC Connected to see if you had been on there. Thank you for updating us…I now know how to pray more specifically for you! Blessings to you and your family…all four of you for now!!!

  3. Oh my! I’d be exhausted even without the meds, girl! 😉 Hang in there, and our Awesome God is going to carry you through this challenging time. And you know that I love, love, LOVE your printables, but if you don’t make them it would be okay. Please don’t feel like you HAVE to finish out the year; life is certainly happening, and it’s okay to let the printables go. I know you know that, but I just felt like putting that out there. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your update, and I’ll be praying for you and your sweet family!

  4. I’m so glad to hear that you are okay 🙂 I was worried about you, and I have been praying for you and your family 🙂 No, we’ve never met, but I truly love your blog and all the ideas you have shared. We use many of your suggestions for our own homeschool. Thank you so much for all of the wonderful plans and worksheets you have shared. I am so appreciative. No worries if you don’t get to the new worksheets. You have a lot on your plate right now. Enjoy this sweet time with your family. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family!

    This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it! Psalm 118:24

Leave a Reply

