School Room Prints

We moved to a new home back in March, and one of my favorite things about our new home is that we have a big, giant school room that gets beautiful light all day long because of the big windows on the front.

You know you’re a homeschooler when…  my hubby and I were trying to decide which “living area space” room should be our actual living room and which one should be the school room, and we ultimately chose that the larger of the two should be the school room.  I’m sure many of you can relate!

Anyway, we painted the school room a beautiful, peaceful light teal color and it’s been a great space for us.  But we don’t have a whole lot on the walls, simply because we’re coming from a teeny, tiny space and didn’t have any wall space to work with in our old place.

(Pretend there’s a transition here.)  Lately I’ve been going to lots of information meetings with my director to do the Essentials presentation of the info meetings.  After several meetings, during the Foundations part, I caught my thoughts trailing as I paged absentmindedly through the catalog.  Not that I wasn’t interested in what my director was saying – it was just I had heard it so much, I could pretty much repeat what she said word for word!

One night I’m paging through the CC catalog and I land on Jennifer Courtney’s article at the front of the catalog.  I read the John Milton quote in the first paragraph and I’m instantly captivated.  And I knew at that moment that I needed that quote on the wall in our school room.

So I came home and made a print of his quote.  And while I was at it, I made a print of the Proverbs scripture we often quote at CC because it mentions all three roads of the trivium.  Here’s what they look like, hanging right over our desk (excuse my terrible phone photography).

image_1-small image-small

 

I love looking up from working at the desk and seeing these prints hanging at eye level.  Especially since I’ve been in plan-for-cycle-3 mode lately, and these words help remind me to keep the proper perspective about education – that its purpose is to know God and make Him known.

If you would like to download these for your own use, I’ve included some links for you to use.

Proverbs-8X10

Download Proverbs 8X10 jpg

Download Proverbs 8.5X11 PDF with 8X10 trim lines

Download Proverbs 8.5X11 PDF with no trim lines

Milton-8X10

Download Milton 8X10 jpg

Download Milton 8.5X11 PDF with 8X10 trim lines

Download Milton 8.5X11 PDF with no trim lines

 

For reference, I didn’t want to spend money to have it printed in a store, so I printed my copies on cardstock at home.  I used the PDF with trim lines and cut it down to an 8X10 and used frames we already had.  ***If you use the 8.5X11 PDF with 8X10 trim lines, make sure you set your printer to print actual size, or you won’t trim out an 8X10.  I also included a plain 8.5X11 PDF you can use in binders, folders, etc.

Our end-of-year ceremony is tomorrow!  I’m so excited because my big girl will receive her Memory Master recognition there.  And then on Sunday she is getting baptized.  What a joyous weekend it will be!  And then… SUMMER!  🙂

2 thoughts on “School Room Prints

  1. Tara….those prints are really cute! I was so happy to see a blogpost come through on my email…..My son really enjoyed the printables you had for last year for english and science. I am having our 3rd boy in June, so I sat down today to do some planning for cycle 3. Do you plan to do printables again for Science and English for cycle 3 that you will share….or should I plan on coming up with something new? Thanks so much for all you do, it has really been a huge help in our schooling!

    • Hi Nancy!

      Thanks so much for posting this! I’m so happy to hear that your son enjoyed the printables. Yes, I do plan on making more English & Science printables for Cycle 3. It’s on my to-do list for the summer. 🙂 Congratulations on your baby boy! What a blessing!

Leave a Reply

