2016-2017 planners are here!

Once again it’s been a year since I’ve posted anything. I guess this will just become a page for my planner updates! 🙂

I have really exciting news for the planners for this year!  After listening to your feedback, I have a LOT of options to offer this year… forty-four, to be exact.  🙂  Keep reading and I’ll explain what they all are.  🙂

First things first, the four main designs from last year have returned.  I did change the background design.  This year I am loving rainbows.  The bright colors are my jam right now (I blame following too many cute craft shops on instagram).  I’m also really loving the arrow trend that is happening right now.  So I combined those two loves for my four returning planners from last year.

Cover Example

This is the cover page and the full calendar page (calendar similar to the previous years’ planners).  I use the calendar to record how many days we’ve “done” school.  I also have the boxes at the bottom where you can color code certain dates – holidays, birthdays, field trips, co-op days, etc.

For the months, I assigned each month a color and did an ombre effect within each month.  When assembled, the full calendar will make a full rainbow.  🙂

Here’s a quick recap of the four types of planners I have made:

Each planner has a two-page spread of the full monthly calendar.  I left the Scripture verses about wisdom on there for this year.  I love having these little reminders about the source of our wisdom!

Big Calendar Example

Now for the different planner styles!

First up is the Traditional Multi-Subject Planner, similar to what I’ve made in the past.

Traditional Example.jpg

The subjects listed on the tabs are:

  • Bible/devotion (I realized how much I needed this one myself when I didn’t have a place to record what we were studying!)
  • Math
  • Language Arts (I figured this could be used for spelling/phonics & grammar, or EEL assignments for Essentials students)
  • Reading/writing (any assigned reading and writing, or IEW papers for Essentials students)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Science
  • Foreign Language
  • Projects/Field Trips

Each month has the Monday-Friday layout, with 4 “check off” dots in each box so you can assign a color to each student or put different assignments next to the dots to check off.

The second type of planner is just like the one above, except all the subject tabs are blank.  This is the Multi-Subject Blank Planner.  This way you have the freedom to fill in your own subjects based on what you do in your personal homeschool (see below!).

Trad Blank Example.jpg

The dates are still completed for this planner, so the only thing you’ll have to fill in is the subject tabs!

The third type of planner is the Block Planner.  This is the planner I have used in my personal homeschool.

Block Example.jpg

The vision behind this planner is based on how I did my personal homeschool last year.  We reviewed our CC memory work every day, but I wanted to take a day per subject to drill deeper because my daughter was asking great questions and wanting to know more about what we were learning in the memory work.  I was overwhelmed trying to “add on” to the memory work daily, but by taking one day to focus on history, one day to focus on science, etc., we were able to go deeper in her studies without mom feeling completely overwhelmed and anxious!

This planner is broken down into the basic daily subjects, then there are “blocks” (hence the name of the planner) for in-depth study on different days.

Daily subjects:

  • Bible/devotion
  • Math
  • Language Arts (I figured this could be used for spelling/phonics & grammar, or EEL assignments for Essentials students)
  • Reading/writing (any assigned reading and writing, or IEW papers for Essentials students)
  • Projects/Field Trips

Block subjects:

  • History
  • Geography
  • Science
  • Foreign Language
  • Fine Arts

For the blocks, you can pick which day you’d like to do which subject.  For our personal homeschool, we would combine a couple of block subjects since we spent one day a week at our CC Community.

And finally, the fourth planner is the Blank Block Planner.  This is the same layout at the Block Planner, except the subjects are blank.  You can pick and choose what to study daily and what to study once or twice a week.

Block Blank Example.jpg

So those are the four types of planners that I offered last year!  Same layout, different graphics & design.

Each planner runs from July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017.  The calendar pages are numbered for ease of printing.  If you begin printing with the first page (the yearly calendar all on one page), the whole calendar should print correctly when set to print front & back.  It is designed so that the big month pages should face each other, and then each set of weekly pages should face each other (Monday-Wednesday on the left hand side, Thursday, Friday, & checklists on the right hand side).

I also included a large set of “Extras” pages again.

Extras

In the Extras section, you will find:

• Field Trips by month
• Important Reminders by month
• Goals
• Daily schedule (with times pre-filled and blank)
• Reading list
• References & resources log
• Curriculum expenses
• Bible verses memorized
• SOAP Bible study page
• Chore chart for kids
• Customizable cleaning schedule
• Weekly menu planning page with cut-off shopping list
• Notes
• Contact information sheet
• Curriculum planning pages

All of these extra pages will be included with the download you purchase.  I did not number the “extras” pages because I know some will be used more than once, some will be printed once and laminated, etc.  The extras are completely customizable for your planner.  Print and choose what you’d like to use!

PRINTING TIPS:

1. This can be printed at home and then bound at an office supply store for around $5 (I think Office Depot is $4.50) or you can hole punch it and put it in a binder.

2. When you print, make sure your printer is set to “fit printable area” (or similar setting). If you set it to actual size, you’ll lose the pretty arrow border.

NOW… for the REALLY exciting news!

I listened to feedback from many of you, and I heard several suggestions for “CC community day” space in the planners.  And then I wanted to smack myself in the forehead for not thinking of it before!

Sooo… my solution was to take my four types of planners and modify them to incorporate CC community days!

That’s right!  You can now buy one of the four types of planners listed with a space for whatever day you have community, and also tailored to whether you do only Foundations or Foundations and Essentials.

(Before anyone asks, unfortunately I do not have Challenge planners.  My kids aren’t Challenge age yet, so I would not even know where to begin in designing something for Challenge.  Not enough time in the day for that learning curve!  Maybe one day when my oldest gets to Challenge.) 🙂

Now, here is caveat for the CC-specific planners:  they are not dated.

I repeat: THEY ARE NOT DATED.

Because every campus starts on different days and breaks on different days, it would be impossible for me to create a dated planner that included a community day.  As much as I wish I could create something that you could just send to the printer and it would print perfectly aligned with your CC school year, that is, alas, impossible.

So if you purchase a download of the CC planners, you will receive the following:

Big, two-page calendar spreads of each month (example below):

Calendar Image

A pair of pages to print for a CC week (example of the Block Planner with a Tuesday F/E community day below):

FEBlock-Tues.jpg

A pair of pages for non-CC weeks (traditional blank pictured below):

FTradBlank-No Comm.jpg

Since there was an empty space where the mini-calendar used to be, I added a box for Morning Time planning/brainstorming, and a top box to list outings for the week.

You will also receive all the “Extras” pages listed above.

PRINTING TIPS:

1. This can be printed at home and then bound at an office supply store for around $5 (I think Office Depot is $4.50) or you can hole punch it and put it in a binder. I would recommend the hole punch/binder route, unless you have your own binding system and it would be easy to add and take away pages.  Things like hurricanes, snow days, tornadoes, and inclement weather can often disrupt CC calendars at the last minute!

2. When you print, make sure your printer is set to “fit printable area” (or similar setting). If you set it to actual size, you’ll lose the pretty striped border.

 

I’ve already gotten a few questions on how to print the CC planners.  Here is my suggestion:

Ideally each calendar/school week (Monday-Friday) should go across two pages so you can see them both at the same time.

To have it go in date order (with you adding the appropriate amount of weeks in between each monthly calendar) I would do it like this (I’ll use an example with July)
1. First print the left page of the big July calendar.  You can either print it on the back of the cover or the back of the “2016-2017 School Year” calendar page.
2. Then print a new sheet with the right page of the big July calendar.
3. Put the right page of the calendar back in your printer and print the left side of the regular school week on the back of it (since no one does CC in July).
4.  Then print another right page of the regular school week.
5.  Put the right page of the regular school week back in the printer and print the left side of the regular school week on the back of it.
6.  Repeat 4-5 until it’s time to add another big calendar page.
7.  When your CC year starts, print CC weekly pages for those weeks instead of the regular school weeks.
For an easier printing method that would give you sections in your planner instead of in date order, you could do the following:
1. Have a larger section of just calendar pages.  Start with the left page of July on the back of the cover or the back of the “2016-2017 School Year” calendar page, then print the remaining calendars front & back.
2.  Print your CC weeks in one section.  Print 24 weeks of the CC weeks front & back.
3.  Print your regular school weeks.  If you are required to do 180 days of school, you would need an additional 12 weeks of regular school weeks.
Personally, I will choose the top route, and print as I go (and keep my planner in a small binder).  I like to have mine in date order.  Our CC calendar often gets disrupted by either hurricanes or severe weather closing all the local schools, so that’s why I will print as I go.  That way if a week gets cancelled/rescheduled, my whole planner isn’t ruined. 🙂

ONE LAST IMPORTANT NOTE: when I originally designed these CC-specific planners, I worked up a design that included the topics for each weekly subject in Foundations (I didn’t do it for Essentials since EEL is strictly copyrighted and the Scope & Sequence for IEW has not been released yet).  I thought, if I could get this approved through CC, that would save us all a LOT of writing in topics!  😉  I sent the example with the topics filled in to my Support Rep for her review and approval, and asked her to check and make sure that if I did that, it would not violate copyright.  After she looked into it, she deemed that including the topics DID violate CC copyright, and asked that I not sell them with the topics added.  So that is why there is no additional information listed on the community days.  I dearly love this program and love what it has done for my family and my children’s education, and I want to respect their property.

All planners also come with an alternate CC-related cover:

CC Cover Extra.jpg

So, that’s what I’ve got for this year!  I hope you can find something that works for you and your family!

If you come across any typos in the planners, please let me know so I can fix them!  I’ve lost count of how many pages I’ve created so there’s bound to be some errors somewhere!

The planners can be found at the following links:

Dated Planners (same style as last year):

Traditional Multi-SubjectTraditional Multi-Subject BlankBlockBlock Blank

And the CC Planners:

Foundations only, Traditional Multi-Subject:

Monday Community Day Tuesday Community DayWednesday Community Day

Thursday Community DayFriday Community Day

Foundations & Essentials, Traditional Multi-Subject:

Monday Community DayTuesday Community DayWednesday Community Day

Thursday Community DayFriday Community Day

Foundations only, Traditional Multi-Subject Blank:

Monday Community DayTuesday Community DayWednesday Community Day

Thursday Community DayFriday Community Day

Foundations & Essentials, Traditional Multi-Subject Blank:

Monday Community DayTuesday Community DayWednesday Community Day

Thursday Community DayFriday Community Day

Foundations only, Block:

Monday Community DayTuesday Community DayWednesday Community Day

Thursday Community DayFriday Community Day

Foundations & Essentials, Block:

Monday Community DayTuesday Community DayWednesday Community Day

Thursday Community DayFriday Community Day

Foundations only, Block Blank:

Monday Community DayTuesday Community DayWednesday Community Day

Thursday Community DayFriday Community Day

Foundations and Essentials, Block Blank:

Monday Community DayTuesday Community DayWednesday Community Day

Thursday Community DayFriday Community Day

And I know what your next question is… CC Cycle 2 planning pages???  While I know they won’t match (oops), my old Cycle 2 planning pages are still on CC Connected.  It took so much extra time to make the CC planners this year that the old Cycle 2 planning pages will have to do.  🙂

Thank you for all your emails, support, and excitement!  It thrills me to get emails from you all asking if I’ll be making these again.  You are so kind with your complements, and it makes me want to make these better and better each year.  So I offer my sincerest thanks!  And if you have suggestions for anything else for the “Extras” pages, let me know!

Thank you, kind CC and homeschooling friends!  You are the best!!!

Leave a Reply

